Prayer and Healing

A note from Erin about prayer:
I want to share with you all a recent concrete result of our prayers. About 2 weeks ago Eric (Sam’s dad) and Greg (Sam’s Uncle) came to visit, and we prayed specifically for the wound on Sam’s buttocks. The next day, as we went to change the dressing we saw significant improvement. I know my dad mentioned the improvement in a previous blog, but I really wanted to point out the timing of that improvement.

healing crossFor months we’ve been working on this wound, and even though he has a special skin-care bed and has had the wound-vac for a while now, we still hadn’t seen the improvement that we expected. The day after our prayer session, Sam’s doctor said the words “Wow Sam, you’ve really turned the corner here.” If you’ve never spent a lot of time with doctors before, they are, as a group hopefully pessimistic. To hear a genuinely happy comment from a doctor feels really good. The funny thing is when we (the wound care team and doctor and I) saw the improvement in the wound, they all gave credit to the wound-vac! I however knew that God was answering our prayer, just like He saved Sam’s right leg overnight. Praise God and know that he answers our prayers.

Erin

I can attest to the fact that the wound on Sam’s buttocks was absolutely horrifying to look at.  I saw it about three months ago when I was visiting Sam and Erin in Bethesda.  I just happened to walk into the room when they were turning Sam over and I got a full view which made me turn around and walk back out so that I could catch my breath. 

Prayer really does work and we all thank you for your prayers and faithfulness to God’s work in Sam and Erin’s lives. 

Tony

10 Responses to Prayer and Healing

  1. Holly Markiewicz says:

    Erin,
    The news about Sam’s wound is so wonderful!!!!! I want you to know that Victor and I appreciate being able to keep in touch through this blog. Sam’s miracles have helped me persnally to appreciate what I have and enjoy each moment. Today reading about the power prayer has had in Sam’s recovery has given me a much needed reminder that God is at work in our lives. We love you both so much!!!! Have an absolutely wonderful day!!!!!!!!!

  2. Lynne says:

    Miracles do happen if we truly believe. God bless Sam and Erin and their family and friends. My husband and oldest son are Marines and my nephew is a soldier in the US Army, and I know this could be them. Keep the faith! Semper Fi!

  3. Denny in Antelope says:

    Dear Sam, Erin and Family.
    I pray for you daily. I haven’t written much, but read Tony’s blog every day. Our church will begin a 40-day time of prayer and fasting for various needs. I will heighten my focus on Sam. Regarding this healing of Sam’s wounds, please let me leave you with this (ya, sure it was the wound-vac…)
    Matt. 9:20-22 – “20 Just then a woman who had been subject to bleeding for twelve years came up behind him and touched the edge of his cloak. 21 She said to herself, “If I only touch his cloak, I will be healed.” 22 Jesus turned and saw her. “Take heart, daughter,” he said, “your faith has healed you.” And the woman was healed from that moment.”

  4. Lori & Tony Peoria says:

    The power of prayer. Praying for your strentgh and healing. God bless you!

  5. Brittany Johnson says:

    Erin & Sam,

    I was so touched by today’s post. I check this blog everyday and tell my family how you are doing. My six year old daughter prays for you every night in her personal prayers and when she says our family prayer she prays for you too. We have all been praying for you and are so happy to hear the progress that has been made.
    We also believe that God’s hand has been guiding you along.

    Erin and Sam, you are both amazing and have such strength, love, and devotion.

    May God continue to bless you
    The Johnson’s

  6. Carol Calloway says:

    I am so glad to hear this great news. I agree 1,000%, Tony. God does answer are prayers which is why I will continue to pray for Sam and all of the family involved in this situation. Erin, I pray for you too. I know from experience is caring for a sick husband, it is not always easy to keep going but God will never let us down.

  7. Sue and Ralph Bancroft says:

    You are both in our family’s prayers daily.Have personally experienced the healing power of prayer in my life and know it works.To feel it is truly a great thing.

  8. Nicole Moen says:

    This is VERY good news! I know Sam continues to do better everyday, but we ALL need to continue to pray everyday. Look what happened with his dad and uncle. If we can all continue to pray who knows what can happen. I continue to pray everyday for Sam, Erin, and the rest of the family.

  9. Bobbie Toyne says:

    Just got back on my computer after it’s been in computer hospital for a few weeks – actually a new one was just built for me! So very happy to know that the buttox wound is much better – yes, “more things are wrought by prayer than this world dreams of.” God bless you, Sam and Erin and all of the family, too. Love and prayers – Bobbie

  10. former Sgt.Robles says:

    God is looking over you sam, as well as our brothers that passed away. They are taking care of you and it’s only a matter of time before you come back to us, There isn’t a day that I don’t think about you or the rest of the guys. Sorry I haven’t been up there to see you I will as soon as I can. You might not know it yet but you are a great inspiration to us all. God bless you sending lots of love your way. Your brother in arms, Former, Juan Robles, former Sgt, USMC

Leave a Reply

