Seniors 4 Soldiers

Seniors4Soldiers

One of the faithful readers of Sam’s blog is a lady named Amanda.  She is with an organization called Seniors 4 Soldiers which is based out of Lincoln California just north east of Sacramento.  This organization is dedicated to serving severely wounded troops who have served in Iraq and Afghanistan.  Financial assistance includes but is not limited to:

  • Special housing retro-fits to adjust to life with a disability
  • Financial assistance with medical bills
  • Educational assistance
  • Occupational Training and life skills assistance
  • Physical therapy
  • Personal and Family Counseling

Please take a few minutes to look over Seniors 4 Soldiers web site.  This organization is a non-profit 501(c) (3) created solely to generate financial assistance for our wounded soldiers as they begin to adapt to a new way life. 

Sam’s medical status:

Saturday October 20th, 2007:  The physical therapist came in today (hasn’t seen Sam in six days) and he was just amazed at Sam’s progress in the last week.  When he asked Sam how he was doing, Sam gave him the thumbs up sign. 

Dr Erin told me she is teaching Sam American Sign Language  (ASL). Today she asked him if he wanted her to read him Harry Potter or watch TV and he gave her the ASL sign for TV which is actually pretty easy for him.  Most of the ASL hand signs are pretty easy for Sam with just a couple of exceptions.

Sunday October 21st, 2007:  It was a quiet day in Palo Alto for Sam and Erin.  They did get a nice visit from Lisa from high school ROTC and our friends Amanda and Brian.  Erin said when Amanda got there, she started massaging Sam’s hand.  Every time she stopped massaging his hand, Sam raised his hand up again to have her continue massaging. 

Sam is being capped today from 6:00 am until midnight.  They may remove the trach tube next week if all goes well.

Monday October 22nd, 2007:  Sam should get his trach tube out on Wednesday.  I’m not sure exactly what that means as far as Sam’s ability to speak.  Erin told me that with the smaller trach tube he’s had for the past two weeks, he could talk right now.  The speech therapist has been getting Sam to make basic sounds when he breaths out, like humming etc.  Erin said today Sam has been the most vocal he ever been, so maybe he will surprise us when the tube is removed. 

I forgot to mention to you that last week Erin told me Sam was weighed and he’s actually gained 1.5 pounds.  She attributes the weight gain to all the physical therapy he has been receiving. 

Sam has been signing “I love you” to Erin today.

7 Responses to Seniors 4 Soldiers

  1. Danalee says:

    I was feeling sorta down when I came on here this morning. But, the updates on Sam have brought happy tears to my eyes. Sam, do you feel the love? I hope so. So many people are cheering you on. You’ve become our inspiration. May God continue to bless you and Erin in the days ahead.

  2. Lisa Filbert says:

    After spending the afternoon with Sam and Erin on Sunday, there is no doubt in my mind that Sam is well on his way to a full recovery. He is doing so well. He looks fantastic, he’s so active and wants to help with his therapy. While I was there, he was showing off by moving his leg up and down for us, stretching out his foot and his hands. We had a good conversation about how long his fingernails are getting, and when I started to threaten him with Hot Pink nails, he showed me exactly how he felt about that! 😀 His communication is not ambiguous, he knows Yes and No, and he’s not afraid to say it, and his sign language skills are well on the way. He looked me in the eye and ‘told’ me that next time I come to visit, he’s going to open his mouth and talk to me, so I’m very excited for them to take his trach out. The drive is not long and if I didn’t get lost, anyone can find it. I can’t wait until the next time I can get out there and visit with them, I’m so excited to see all the new things Sam has learned by then!

  3. jacob barnett SGT USMC says:

    keep it up sam

  4. kabbruzzi says:

    Hi Sam, Erin & Family!!

    Great update – I’m SOOOOO excited for tomorrow to see if they remove the trach and how Sam will react to that!! What a wonderful milestone to look forward to, and another huge hurdle overcome. Great job Sam, and great work Dr. Erin!! You guys are working so hard and boy is it paying off – bigtime!! Sam, Erin & Family please know that there are tons of prayers, support and LOADS of Angel Hugs coming your way all day every day.

    WELCOME HOME KILO BATTERY. God bless each and every one of you, and thank you so very much for everything you have done for me, my family and this great country. I am forever in debt to you. And God bless the wounded heroes and those who gave all – none will ever be forgotten. Thank you Sam & Kilo Battery.

    Sam, you continue to inspire and continue to let us know that yeah, miracles really can and really do happen. Thoughts and prayers are with you each and every day, and always will be. Looking forward to tomorrow’s update!!!!

    – Kris, a Soldier’s Angel from RI

  5. To read this message today just blesses me, because I was an interpreter to the deaf for about four years, and I still know sign language very well, and if Erin has any questions, maybe I can help.

    1Sa 1:20
    Wherefore it came to pass, when the time was come about after Hannah had conceived, that she bare a son, and called his name Samuel, saying, Because I have asked him of the LORD.

  6. Erin Nichols says:

    Thank you all for your continued support. I am truly amazed and blessed that so many of you continue to check and contribute to the blog regularly. i just finished listening to an online audio teaching from my uncle greg at http://www.wfministries.net and was reminded of something very important. God does not act alone. He needs us to do His will. Just as God had Moses raise his staff and part the Red Sea, “God needs us to do the little things, so He can do the big things”(Greg Nichols).

    “So I sought for a man among them who would make a wall, and stand in the gap before Me on behalf of the land…” Ezekiel 22:30

    Sam needs us to stand in the gap before God and declare his recovery. God wants Sam to recover more than any of us do; He just needs us to raise our staff.

  7. This scripture is so perfect for what we all want for Sam; as I said before, when I played the fanfare at the Washington Monument at Stand in the Gap, I had Sam on my mind. Erin , tell Sam about us, if you haven’t already; we want him to know how much we care.
    “So I sought for a man among them who would make a wall, and stand in the gap before Me on behalf of the land…” Ezekiel 22:30

    http://www.standinthegap2007.org/pages/photos?albumitemid=3

Leave a comment