Healing With Faith and Humor

Sam’s medical status:  Sam has a little fever but getting better since yesterday.  He had a CT scan today to make sure everything is “flowing” properly through him. 

Blog Update Change:  I’ve been faithfully updating this blog every day for a little over a month now.  It’s gotten to the point where Erin and I feel Sam is stable enough to where a daily update really isn’t needed.  Erin was thinking that twice a week would be enough to keep everyone updated on Sam’s status.  I’m thinking maybe a Monday and Thursday or Friday update would be more appropriate. 

I’m also looking into setting up automatic email updates and/or an RSS feed if anyone is interested.  The email update that you would subscribe to would send you an email every time I update the blog with the hyperlink of the update.  The RSS (Really Simple Syndication) would also be an easy way to check for a blog update by going to your “feed reader” (which you would need to download from a company like Google, Yahoo, etc.) versus having to go to this web site every time to see if an update has been made.  I’ll keep everyone updated on these two blog features as I learn how to add them to the web blog. 

nurse bear

Attitude is everything:  I mentioned recently that Sam’s mother sent “Nurse Bear” to help Erin take care of Sam.  She put Nurse Bear on Sam’s bed right between his legs so she’s always looking at him. 

One thing I noticed about hanging out with Erin and Sam for a whole week is her attitude.  Obviously when all of this first happened, she was devastated and took it very hard along with the rest of us.  But I noticed she is in very good cheer and spends much of her time around Sam being very playful with him and even teasing him.  As an example, when Erin arrived at the hospital this morning she noticed that Sam’s right ankle was a little swollen.  So, she admonished him for not pushing the call button and summoning a nurse when he wanted to get up.  That may seem a little odd being that Sam is still in a coma, but it is indicative of the atmosphere in Sam’s room. 

We are not hopeless and we are not giving up on Sam.  He is making little improvements here and there at his own pace.  Most importantly, Erin is placing her trust in God and the fact that all things happen in God’s time and not our own.  Sam’s hospital room is filled with love and even laughter.  He is surrounded by the love of his family and by the prayer and good wishes of thousands of people, some of whom don’t even know him. 

Here is a reading from our faithful friend Larry Wiseman from Bugles Across America.  Larry, the bible verses and encouragement are so appropriate and comforting to Erin:

And the prayer of faith shall save the sick, and the Lord shall raise him up.

Jas 5:15

13 I had fainted, unless I had believed to see the goodness of the LORD in the land of the living. 14 Wait on the LORD: be of good courage, and he shall strengthen thine heart: wait, I say, on the LORD.

Psalm 27

4 Responses to Healing With Faith and Humor

  1. Bobbie Toyne says:

    Keep up the good work and the samiles! Smiles always take less energy…and they are good for you. God Bless. Love, hugs and smiles! Bobbie

  2. God has led me to be diligent in praying for Sam, and at times, even I don’t understand it because I have not met you folks. I feel a definite kindred spirit with you all, and when I look at Sam’s face, my heart just goes out to all of you, and I realize that my son David could be where Sam is, and we are so thankful; why God allows some things or not is not our call, but He just wants us to Trust, because(ThankGod) as Christians, we know that this is not all there is.
    About 21 years ago, my brother lost his 19 yr. old son, who was killed in a head-on collision. Randy Wiseman was one of the “Godliest” men I that I have ever known. We did not understand why God could have allowed this to happen, but over the years, we have come to understand that we do not have the big picture, and He does know best. The Creator of the Universe surely has a better vantage point than we do, and He only asks us to love Him, and each other.

    So today, I will give to you Randy’s life verse: For me to live is Christ, and to die is gain. Phillipians 1:21

    And to you all …remember Phillipians 4:13 I CAN DO all things through Christ which strengthens me.

    I forgot to tell you that Randy had a 1 month old son at the time, and he is now 21+ years old, and a fine young man.

    Sam will get through this, and you will, too. I will keep checking in,and even though you won’t be updating everyday, I will be praying everyday. I can certainly understand why you need to do that at this time. God Bless

  3. Denny G says:

    (re-posted from “RSS and e-mail update test” posting)
    Dear Tony, and of course, Sam & Erin,

    I just successfully subscribed to your RSS, which now resides at the top of my homepage where I will see it every day.

    I e-mailed you a few weeks ago when I first read Sam’s story in the Bee (Sunday, 8/19). I have been praying faithfully every day for Sam and Erin, and for the rest of your family. I have checked in to your blog several times since.

    Like all of you, I am so encouraged to learn of Sam’s progress! Our heavenly Father is certainly a stronghold in times of trouble and a healer of the infirm. I love to read your updates on how Erin is such a loving wife to her husband. Your whole family’s courage through this is a testimony to our God’s greatness and to our country’s character. I live in Antelope and so hope I will meet Sam and all of you some day.

    May God, through the power of his Son, continue to bless you, guide you, give you peace as he heals “our” Sam.

    Sincerely, humbly,
    Denny

  4. Liz Finberg-Timmerman says:

    Thank you for all your hardwork Tony. I’m looking forward to ur next update. God bless.

Leave a Reply

