The stair climber

Sam’s medical status:   Another quite day for Sam.  We’ve been noticing this week that when he gets moved by the nurses or corpsman or when they change his bandages that he’s getting more and more animated.  His eyes squint and he sort of grimaces like you would normally see someone grimace when they are really uncomfortable.  Previously, he just didn’t response, or responded very little to what we know is very painful stimulus. 

A few days ago they took the bandage off his right lower leg where he received quite a bad wound.  This wound along with an even larger wound on his right thigh were the recipients of skin grafts from his front left thigh.  Both grafts are looking really good.  Actually, they look terrible to the naked eye, but medically, they are healing very well. 

Sam with other NCO's in Iraq

More Gratefulness:  I had another one of those moments of initial complaining, etc. that turned into a moment of gratitude.  I have this problem with elevators.  I’m fine using them every now and then, but when I was in Kansas City last year for two weeks, the office I was in was on the fifth floor.  After a while, I started getting dizzy and had to use the stairs every day. 

As it turns out, Sam is on the 5th floor of the Naval hospital here in Bethesda.  After a few days of taking the elevators, I started getting dizzy again, so the last couple of days I’ve been using the stairs.  Now, I’m not in great shape and I’m not in the worst of shape, but once I make the five story trek to Sam’s floor, my heart is pounding pretty well. 

I initially had a “poor me” moment because of having to use the stairs, but—there are way to many reminders around here of just how lucky I am to be able to walk up those five flights of stairs on my own.  It’s nice to have a reminder every now and then of how lucky I am for things I normally take for granted. 

9 Responses to The stair climber

  1. All of this is very encouraging; like I have said, I feel that God is knitting Samuel back together; I have to climb 3 very steep flights of stairs every day to get to my shop; NOW I will pray for Sam…every step of the way, every morning at 6am. Tony, this is your scripture of the day, God be with you my brother in the Lord.

    Psalms 27:13&14
    27:13
    I had fainted, unless I had believed to see the goodness of the LORD in the land of the living.

    27:14
    Wait on the LORD: be of good courage, and he shall strengthen thine heart: wait, I say, on the LORD.

  2. As I have said before, I believe that God is knitting Sam back together; I have to climb 3 very steep flights of stairs every morning to get to my shop. Now I will pray for Sam every step of the way each morning at 6am. Tony, here is your scripture of the day; God be with you, my brother!

    Psalms 27:13&14

    27:13
    I had fainted, unless I had believed to see the goodness of the LORD in the land of the living.

    27:14
    Wait on the LORD: be of good courage, and he shall strengthen thine heart: wait, I say, on the LORD.

  3. This is so encouraging; I have said before that God is knitting Sam back together; I have to climb 3 steep flights of stairs every day to get to my shop; now I will pray for Sam every step, every morning at 6am. Tony here is your scripture of the day, it is for you keep the Faith!
    Psalms 27
    13 I had fainted, unless I had believed to see the goodness of the LORD in the land of the living. 14 Wait on the LORD: be of good courage, and he shall strengthen thine heart: wait, I say, on the LORD.

  4. Erin Nichols says:

    Larry, it’s so great that you chose that scripture for today. Last night I was telling my mom how comfortable I feel waiting for Sam to recover. I no longer feel desperation when I pray, but confidence and appreciation for God.

  5. Well, Erin, it sounds like you are resting in the Peace of Jesus; He wants to be in that Peace; I praise God for that.

    Php 4:7
    And the peace of God, which passeth all understanding, shall keep your hearts and minds through Christ Jesus.

  6. Soldiers Angel Cindy says:

    I’m sending a letter in the mail to Sam’s “Dad”. What an incredible father in law! I am about to gain a daughter as my son is getting married next Saturday and I can’t wait to officially have a daughter! (I have 4 wonderful sons!) My letter is too long to post…but please read it to Sam and Erin. I do believe there is a reason for everything that happens in life. God has made us all realize what wonderful family we have and thank God every day for it! God bless you all and Sam will be “back”…..he is a true HERO! Cindy, Cape Cod, Ma.

  7. Bobbie Toyne says:

    Dear Erin, Sam and family – I received an email today that I wanted to pass on especially to all of you – I have you all in my prayers… “I pray that everyone

    who receives this message will be BLESSED, abundantly. Below is a

    beautiful poem; … say a prayer about what’s on your heart, before you

    read the poem. That’s all you have to do. … Prayer is one of the best

    free gifts we receive. There is no cost but a lot of reward. (Did you

    pray?) Make sure you pray, and pray believing that God will answer.

    Say your prayer NOW.

    May today there be peace within. May you trust God that you are exactly

    where you are meant to be. May you not forget the infinite
    possibilities
    that are born of faith. May you use those gifts that you have received,

    and pass on the love that has been given to you. May you be content
    knowing you are a child of God…Let His presence settle into your
    bones,
    and allow your soul the freedom to sing, dance, praise and love. It is
    there for each and every one of us.”

    I have left parts of it out intentionally (those that say to pass it on, etc.) but the message is one of faith and hope.

    God Bless you. Love and prayers, Bobbie

  8. Don and Susan Galli says:

    Erin and Sam – what a small world this is – Don is in the Deacon formation program and we were at a meal yesterday and I was talking about Sam with Mary and Jim Hopp and the remarkable progress he has made, Jim asked me Sam’s name, I had not mention it as yet, I told him Sam Nichols – he knows your grandfather, Jim who himself was in the service always prays for the men and women in the service, you have so many people praying and pulling for you. the strength of God your wife and family are a power beyond compare.

    Blessings

    Susan and Don

  9. Liz Finberg-Timmerman says:

    Lol, I have those moments of gratefulness very often.

Leave a Reply

