Believe Trust Hope

Sam’s medical status:  Sam received two new chest tubes yesterday to help drain fluid from his chest.  He’s going to have a bronchoscopy performed today which should allow the doctors to remove any mucous that can’t be drained with the chest tubes.

The doctors will remove the wound vacuums from the two areas on Sam’s leg that received the skin graph.  The wound vacuum is used for wound drainage to speed up healing and keep the wound from getting infected.  

Sam will be getting a CT scan today to check an abscess in his gut which was caused by shrapnel and another one caused by an incision when his spleen was removed.  The CT scan will allow the doctors to get better examine the size of each abscess.

Erin said Sam continues to have leg movement (twitching mostly) and he was moving his right arm a bit today.  She said he was moving his foot in response to her tickling it…he didn’t seem to appreciate the tickling!     

believe trust and hope II

I receive many wonderful bible verses in the comments section of this web blog.  I’d like to occasionally share them with you.  I know I could just type them out, but sometimes, they have a greater impact when done in the above form (via a beautiful picture background).  I feel it has a similar impact as singing a song based on a psalm or other bible verses.  So—enjoy the view and bible verses as we continue to pray for a miracle for Sam.   

7 Responses to Believe Trust Hope

  1. 1 The LORD is my shepherd; I shall not want. 2 He maketh me to lie down in green pastures: he leadeth me beside the still waters. 3 He restoreth my soul: he leadeth me in the paths of righteousness for his name’s sake. 4 Yea, though I walk through the valley of the shadow of death, I will fear no evil: for thou art with me; thy rod and thy staff they comfort me. 5 Thou preparest a table before me in the presence of mine enemies: thou anointest my head with oil; my cup runneth over. 6 Surely goodness and mercy shall follow me all the days of my life: and I will dwell in the house of the LORD for ever.

    Psalms 23

    I have always wondered what the verse about the”table before me in the presence of mine enemies” actually means.

    In the land of the shepherds, there are places called table lands, where they take their sheep into a place out in the open, where even the enemies can see them. When we are that vulnerable, God is still with us, and he anoints us with His fullness!

    Keep believing! God is good…ALL the time! LW

  2. Susan wants me to share one her songs of encouragement to you all; when our son was in Iraq, she was deep in prayer one day at her keyboard, and she was inspired to write:

    “I Just Keep on Dreamin”
    I believe that you will relate when you hear the words…Prayin’ and believin’.
    When you get to the site, it will play right away; here is the link…

    http://www.myspace.com/susandwiseman

  3. Julie Neria Bugles Across America says:

    Larry Wiseman this note is for you. Thank you so much for your continuous entries on the blog and your prayers. Do you remember who I am? I’m the lady that was on the national news because I played “Taps” every night outside my house during the war. I think I remember you from way back then. Ring a bell? Well I just appreciate you so much for all your entries. God bless you.

  4. Thanks Julie: I remember who you are, and have always respected you for that. I picked up the news about Sam on the BAA forum. Susan gets those burdens, and inspirations from the lives of these brave warriors, and this time, it has happened to me, and we just will not stop praying. Let us know if we can help. On October 6th, I will be in Washington to play for the Stand in the Gap 2007 men’s conference…1,000 trumpets at the Washington Monument. I will try to come and visit Sam then, if not before. I just want to say that it is not about me; it’s about prayin’ and believin’!

    http://www.larrywiseman.blogspot.com

  5. Lisa Filbert says:

    Wow, that’s fantastic that he’s moving in response to stimuli! Erin, keep up the teasing and tickling, that way he has no choice but to open his eyes and tell you to knock it off! I’m so looking forward to the days when you two come home, I’m kicking myself repeatedly for not trying harder to see you two at Christmas after Sam called and told me you were going to be home for a bit… Especially now that I realize that you probably came to my apt. complex at least once during your trip… Weird how connected we all are and we rarely ever know it until something like this happens to open all of our eyes. I miss you both so much I can’t even express it. Tell Sam he better wake up soon, or I’m flying out with a bag full of feathers… Those long, soft ostrich feathers…..

  6. frances kozumplik says:

    Erin,
    I am checking your dad’s blog every day and thinking about you and your husband. I am praying for his recovery and you peace of mind. I remember quite fondly having both you and Ali as students. Take care of yourself
    Frances Kozumplik

  7. Kalista Kersten says:

    i agree with Lisa! KEEP TICKLING!!!! if nothing else its that extra little push that just may make the miracle we are all hoping for work. If not, he’ll still twitch which is a good sign too!

Leave a Reply

