More surprise visitors

imageSam’s medical status:  Things change very quickly and what I get told by Erin and/or the rest of my family who are in and out Bethesda  has to be restated or corrected often—mostly because the medical staff gets to busy or has higher priority work to attend too.  I’ve mentioned Sam’s broken arm getting set in the past—we’ve had a few postponements, but today when Erin arrived, she found his arm all bandaged up.  She said he looked like the Michelin Man!  They finally operated and set his broken arm this morning.  Erin also mentioned that in the past, it took Sam quite a while to recover from his surgeries, but the last couple of times he recovered quickly from the sedation and looked really good healthy (breathing well, swallowing, occasionally blinking, etc).  

image

More Visitors:  The picture to the left is Gordon England who is the  Deputy Secretary of Defense.  He was at the Naval hospital in Bethesda and stopped by to visit all of the troops.  He offered his prayers and support for Sam’s recovery. 

The wounded troops also received a visit from the San Diego Cheerleaders!  They were in town because San Diego was playing the Washington Redskins.  On top of that, they handed out free laptop computers the military personal being cared for at the hospital!  I’m not sure who donated the laptops, but I’ll find out and report back in the blog.  I was just telling my boss (who has been an angel in all of this) that one of the silver linings in this tragedy, is to learn there are so many wonderful caring people in this country. 

8 Responses to More surprise visitors

  1. Kristen says:

    I read the article in the sacramento bee, and it touched my heart. My brother is in Iraq serving his second tour. So this story really hit home. I have been on this blog everyday since. I never knew so many soilders were being injured, you just don’t hear about it. My family and I are praying for Sam and his family. And all the other soilders that have been wounded.

  2. Thanks for the update, Tony. I continue to pray for Sam’s recovery. I hope it was Dell that donated the computers–they can afford to–I just bought a new one from them. 🙂 Anyway, you’re right, we don’t hear enough about the efforts being made by private citizens or corporations to make a difference in the lives of our heroes. Even if it is for just a moment, my faith in the system is restored… Tony, Have a safe trip back to Bethesda. Julie, it was wonderful you could be there to support your daughter (and son-in-law) despite the challenges it posed. You’re awesome! Blessings to all.

  3. ARP says:

    Tony, I learned of what happened through a friend of mine, who’s husband is in Kilo Btry with Sam. And although I do not personally know Sam or Erin (unfortunately) I come here everyday to see if there has been any change. And I pray everyday that I will get to see the amazing post that will tell us he has come out of the coma and is back with Erin completely, I know it’s coming, I have faith that it is coming. Your daughter sounds just incredible the strength she has dealing with all this, and both families as well. I also love how you talk about Sam, this blog just lets everyone know how amazing both your daughter and son in law truly are! He really is a hero, volunteering to go back over to be with his men, it’s amazing the sacrifices these guys make for this country’s freedom. I am thankful that I get a chance to walk freely, speak freely and all the little things that people take for granted, because of the incredible dedication and sacrifices that the men and women, like Sam, make. He is a true hero and I’m looking forward to the day that your hero comes back to you all.

    Thoughts and Prayers from Oklahoma.

  4. Nicole Moen says:

    First thing in the morning when I wake up I go on this blog to check and see how Sam is doing. Most people would wake up and get their coffee, me, I just jump on here and pray for a miracle, and pray that in this blog it will say that Sam has woken up from his coma. Thats what I pray for everyday. I know that one morning when I check this, that it will say Sam is awake!! I know with everyones prayers and positive thoughts, that this will come true. It amazes me everyday how many lives Sam has touched, and how many people now know Sam, Erin, and both of their families. I read all the blog comments, and people who don’t even know Sam are posting comments and praying for him. Thinking aboout this, god only knows how many people are praying for Sam. I have a few churches that are praying for Sam, and who knows how many of those people passed on this story. All these wonderful/amazing/caring/loving people praying for Sam, I don’t think that we or anyone could ask for more than that!!! To everyone who is praying, or helping Sam out in some way, I pray for you and thank god for people like you. May God Bless All Of You,

    Nicole Moen

  5. Erin Nichols says:

    I truly believe that some day soon I’ll be posting the story of Sam waking up. I thank God everyday for all of you who are praying with me for Sam’s full recovery. His body is well on its way, and I believe God is working on that brain for us.

  6. Well here is the scripture that God has given me for you today…

    Let your conversation be without covetousness, and be ye content with such things as ye have; for He hath said, I will never leave you nor forsake you.

    So that we may BOLDLY say, The Lord is my helper, and I will not fear what man shall do unto me. Hebrews 13:5&6

    I still have faith that God IS working here, and we will continue to trust HIM.

    I will check back in tomorrow; hang on to what you’ve got; things will get better! LW

  7. from Marty,

    Thank you to all who have given prayers, thoughts, energy, and focus regarding Sam’s situation. You are all greatly appreciated.

  8. Charlie Brown says:

    Erin and family keep your heads up no matter what! God Bless.

Leave a Reply

