Bethesda: Place of Healing

Sam’s medical status:  I guess I jumped the gun a little about Sam’s broken arm being set with pins and a plate.  I thought it was performed yesterday but they are waiting for a few other complications to pass before performing these operations.  Sam’s fever was back up to 103 again today so they will postpone any surgery on this arm until Friday or sometime next week.

Sam got an infection from the “main line” that they use to give him various drugs and fluids.  Erin said this was a fairly normal thing when the main line has been in the same place for so long.  There was a whole swarm of doctors and nurses working on Sam today to get a new line established.  Erin was of course in full scrubs mask and gloves right in there with them all making sure they were doing it right.    

Erin is still seeing small improvements with Sam.  For example, his eye brows were moving more today and his good leg (the one without the injury) was twitching a bit. 

The best medical care possible:  I’ve heard many people tell me the hospital that Sam is being cared for (National Naval Medical Center, Bethesda, Maryland) is the best of the best…If the president had a head trauma injury he would be worked on by the same doctors that work on Sam.  So—even though Sam is all the way across the country (our families live in the Sacramento area), at least we know he is at the best possible hospital he can be in.  Let’s also pray for the doctors and all medical personal that God guides them in their daily procedures and decisions.  

Bethesda, JerusalemErin pointed me to an interesting passage from the bible that talks about “Bethesda”.  I don’t know if this is just a coincidence that the hospital is located in Bethesda or not, but—“Bethesda” means “a place of healing” or “a place of mercy or grace”. The picture is the Church of St. Anne and the “Pool of Bethesda” in Jerusalem.  The church was erected in the 12th century at the time of the Crusades.  The imposing remains of a pool with two baths and five porches confirm the story told in the Gospel below. 

1After this there was a feast of the Jews; and Jesus went up to Jerusalem.

2Now there is at Jerusalem by the sheep market a pool, which is called in the Hebrew tongue Bethesda, having five porches.

3In these lay a great multitude of impotent folk, of blind, halt, withered, waiting for the moving of the water.

4For an angel went down at a certain season into the pool, and troubled the water: whosoever then first after the troubling of the water stepped in was made whole of whatsoever disease he had.

John 5 1-4 (KJV)

Let’s all pray that “Bethesda” will truly be a place of healing for Sam.

11 Responses to Bethesda: Place of Healing

  1. Ali says:

    This was a very helpful entry Daddy. It is good to hear that Sam is still improving- I have no doubt that is is due to all of the prayers and positive thoughts going his way. I can’t wait to get there on Thursday to see the improvements. I love you Sam!

  2. Kim King says:

    Tony and Erin,
    I live in the area and have been to Bethesda many times. Rest assured that Sam is getting the best possible care. God has him right where he needs to be. The staff is very helpful and encouraging there.
    I know it must be very difficult for you being so far away from your son so I’m praying that the peace of God which transcends all understanding will gaurd your heart and your mind in Christ Jesus. I am also praying this for Erin as she is so supportive by Sam’s bedside.
    Blessings, Kim King

  3. Susan (NC) says:

    Sam, Erin, and friends and family,
    I just wanted to let you know I will have you all in my prayers and also to thank you for serving our country in all your different capacities.
    my thoughts and prayers are with you,
    Susan

  4. Melissa Jones says:

    Sam, Erin, family & friends,

    I will keep Sam in my prayers that God will heal him. Erin for you I pray comfort, peace, and endurance. Family and Friends to you I pray that you will give comfort, strength, love, and time to the couple.
    Thank you Sam for serving and defending our country, Erin I am also a military wife I know your struggles and your service again, thank you.

    God Bless you all,
    Melissa

  5. I just wanted to send our thoughts & prayers. I send you nothing but hope and love for I would be thankful for the same in return being a military spouse myself. May God be with you and your families. Never lose Faith, always talk to him, he can hear you. People say they can’t. I have worked in the nursing field for almost 12 yrs. Family and talking does miracles. Take care & keep your head up. My thoughts & prayers to you as long as you need them.

    Jennifer

  6. Dolores Hines says:

    SAM we are praying for you at the San Roque novena here at St. Lawrence.
    Erin please tell SAM our heartful thanks for serving our country. And to you
    Erin may you’ll find love, comfort and strength in our prayers and your family.

    God Bless!
    Dolores

  7. 5 And a certain man was there, which had an infirmity thirty and eight years. 6 When Jesus saw him lie, and knew that he had been now a long time in that case, he saith unto him, Wilt thou be made whole? 7 The impotent man answered him, Sir, I have no man, when the water is troubled, to put me into the pool: but while I am coming, another steppeth down before me. 8 Jesus saith unto him, Rise, take up thy bed, and walk. 9 And immediately the man was made whole, and took up his bed, and walked…Jon 5:5-9(KJV)
    I am stand on the promise that Jesus will intervene and touch Sam…Jesus is our High Priest, and He ever makes intercession before Father…imagine this Jesus is praying for Sam right now!

  8. Liz Finberg-Timmerman says:

    A place of healing….. Let my friend be healed.

  9. Carol Calloway says:

    I pray daily for Sam’s complete healing and Bethseda will be the place of that healing.
    I beieve God will heal Sam, our hero and our friend -unmet asyet.

    God be with all of you,
    Carol

  10. Bobbie Toyne says:

    Dear Sam and Erin – Have just read the beautiful page in the newspaper – and what a beautiful tribute to the whole family! I have continued to tell my friends and family – all of them on my email list (except the choir) about praying for him…and all 150 are, I know.
    Somehow I know that God will hear our prayers…God Bless.
    Love, Bobbie

  11. Patricia says:

    How’s Sam now?

Leave a Reply

