The Marine Corps Ball

Sam’s Medical Status:  Erin said Sam had a good day yesterday and didn’t give her any scares! All of his stats (blood pressure, breathing, heart rate, temperature, etc.) are stable. He has various wounds in his right arm and hip that were closed up, although they haven’t reset his broken arm yet.  They cleaned out his lower leg wound and it still looks healthy (this is the one they though was going to have to be amputated).  He’s had a sinus infection for about the last three days but Erin noticed Sam is actually moving his lips a little bit and often because of the discomfort…Erin sees this as a good sign since the only other movement he had was a response from when his wounds were getting cleaned out.  She said it feels like Sam is so close to being with her…right on the edge.

231st Marine Corps Ball 2nd Battalion 11th MarinesAt the Ball:  I have one of those cork pin-up boards right in front of my computer where I work every day.  And on the board are various pictures of family and friends.  One of the pictures is of Sam and Erin at the 231st Marine Corps Ball (2nd Battalion 11th Marines).  It’s an understatement to stay that both Sam and Erin are so proud of the fact that Sam is a Marine.  Sam—I am so proud of you too…all of us are!

Father-Daughter Dance:  Another picture on the cork board in my office is of Erin kissing me at her wedding right at the end of the father daughter dance.  It was during that dance that I suddenly and abruptly came to the realization that I was losing my daughter to another man.  And being the dignified and reserved person that I am, my response was to break down and cry like a baby throughout most the dance.  I guess it was less of a dance and more of a “hold up my daddy while he weeps in my arms” kind of thing.  But—I really was happy for her!  I knew my daughter was marrying the man of her dreams.  And I knew she was marrying her soul mate—and I knew I loved Sam as much as I could love my own son.

5 Responses to The Marine Corps Ball

  1. Danalee says:

    Tony, thank you for baring your soul and heart to us with your wonderful memories. Sam will come through this–I just feel it!! Blessings to you all. X

  2. Carol Calloway says:

    It is great to hear of improvement in Sam’s condition. I feel any good news is great. I will keep praying daily for Sam and all of those who love him. I have spread the news all across this country and there hundreds more praying for you all. Faith will see you all through this.

    Love and prayers,
    Carol

  3. NICOLE MOEN says:

    Tony I just want to say THANK YOU VERY MUCH for keeping everyone updated!!!! I can’t tell you how much this means to me and I’m sure everyone else. This story with Sam just amazes me everyday and has made me believe in miracles. I can honestly say that in the past I wasn’t sure if I believed in god. After seeing all theese miracles happen, I now know and fully understand. I don’t think I have ever prayed this much in my entire life. I also have all my family and freinds praying for him, and just not my aunt went to church, and I had her and the church pray for him as well. It is so touching to see how many people have pulled/came together for Sam, Erin, and both of their families!!! I am slao amazed with how strong Erin is. She is most definately one of the strongest women (for her age as well) I have ever known. Erin you hang in there, and continue doing what you are doing because it seems to be working VERY well!!!! I believe, no-I know Sam will be ok and come through for ALL of us. I continue to pray every day and night for Sam, Erin, and all the family and I won’t stop until I know he is going to be ok. I know everyone keeps saying if you need anything to let them know, and I just want all of you to know if there is anything else I can do besides pray, PLEASE let me know. God blees all of you!!!!!!!

    Nicole Moen

  4. Tammy Lazenby says:

    Dear Sam and Erin,
    I know it’s a day early, but I want to wish Sam “Happy Birthday.” It’s so easy to remember Sam’s birthday because he shares it with Uncle Daryl. We will have a extra piece of cake saved for Sam. I know that one day soon, Sam and Uncle Daryl can share it together. We are always thinking about you two. We will continue to keep Sam in our prays everyday. And Erin you make me every proud. Stay strong. Let me know if there is anything we can do to help. Give Sam a kiss from all of us.

    Love, Aunt Tammy

  5. Good days and bad days… I am still keeping your family in my prayers; it sounds like Sam is making some headway; one day at a time; keep the faith, keep it in God’s hands.

    Trust in the Lord with all of your heart; lean not unto your own understanding; in all your ways acknowledge HIM, and He will direct your paths. Proverbs 3:5&6
    I will continue to check , and I will keep praying!

Leave a Reply

