Marine’s Prayer

I called Julie today and she told me Sam has an infection in his gall bladder, so they are going to take fluid from it and analyze it to ensure they won’t have to perform surgery to remove it. This problem is also causing his blood pressure to be lower and he has a fever of 103. They will be giving him antibiotics all day, so hopefully that will take care of the problem. Today the doctors are also going to perform surgery on one of Sam’s arms that was broken when he was hit by the IED.

Now for a little good news—Julie mentioned that when the nurses were cleaning his wounds today, his whole body arched up in pain. This happened a couple of times when they were working on him. They said it was a very good sign that his body was responding to the movement and stimulation that was occurring. Last week a bolt was removed in Sam’s head that was being used to monitor the inter-cranial pressure. The bolt was removed because they were not seeing any further swelling in his brain.

I spoke to Kelley (Sam’s mother) this morning and she is going to fly back out the Bethesda on Saturday. Donny (Sam’s younger brother) arrived back in Bethesda last night. Sam’s father Eric and his brother Greg are going to be headed back to Sacramento from Bethesda on Friday. Julie said it will be very difficult when Eric and Greg leave because they have been a tremendous support to her. Thank you Greg so much for praying with Erin…she has learned so much from you about faith in God and the power of prayer.

Marine’s Prayer

Almighty Father, whose command is over all and whose love never fails, make me aware of Thy presence and obedient to Thy will. Keep me true to my best self, guarding me against dishonesty in purpose and deed and helping me to live so that I can face my fellow Marines, my loved ones, and Thee without shame or fear. Protect my family.

image

Give me the will to do the work of a Marine and to accept my share of responsibilities with vigor and enthusiasm. Grant me the courage to be proficient in my daily performance. Keep me loyal and faithful to my superiors and to the duties my Country and the Marine Corps have entrusted to me. Help me to wear my uniform with dignity, and let it remind me daily of the traditions which I must uphold.

If I am inclined to doubt, steady my faith; if I am tempted, make me strong to resist; if I should miss the mark, give me courage to try again.

Guide me with the light of truth and grant me wisdom by which I may understand the answer to my prayer.

8 Responses to Marine’s Prayer

  1. Tabitha Schieder says:

    I am so glad to hear that! The power of prayer is truly amazing. I’m keeping on praying for you all. Don’t ever give up. God has his plan for us all!
    Stay Strong.

  2. Aileen and Willie Douglas says:

    Dearest Friends,

    We are praying always for Sam’s recovery, and peace, courage and strength for all of you caring for him in body and spirit. We have been checking the blog daily to keep up with Sam’s conditions and sending constant prayers on his behalf. I am filled with admiration by the love, faith, courage, and strength clearly shown here. This is family and friends at the very best of human nature: God’s love. Sam is a hero and an amazing young man. It is easy to see how he came to be that way with all these love and faith filled people sorrounding him We are with you, in spirit and in Christ’s love. God Bless you. With all our love, Willie and Aileen.

  3. Liz Finberg-Timmerman says:

    For the first time im crying out of joy at this wonderful news. im so happy to hear that Sam is responding. Erin I love you and I am so proud of you for being strong for all of us here at home. Please tell Sam that my mother and I love him and cant wait to see him again.

  4. Evelyn Ettridge says:

    To Erin, Sam, and Family,

    We continue to lift Sam and all of you up to our powerful, loving, and miracle working God. Last week I shared about Sam in at three different groups in my church in Alexandria. The prayers that were offered were truly heart-felt. I will be back with one of the groups Sunday morning, and will have the oppurtunity to share the encouraging news as well as the continuing needs. The updates are so appreciated (thank you, Tony, for this ministry). I count it a priviledge getting acquinted with this fine young man, Sam.

    In Christ’s Love,
    Evelyn Ettridge

    I am a sister to George Caywood, who attended your and Sam’s wedding. I live across the river near Reagan National Airport in Arlington, Virginia.

  5. However, some essential considerations will be of a key component support.

    Understand that the other players are in all probability seeking independently with an special occasion to help stone cold bluff.

  6. This site definitely has all of the information and
    facts I needed concerning this subject and didn’t know who to ask.

  7. On the other hand, several of her Montreal Concordia
    University peers loved to wait to the last minute and loved the challenge.

    It is also known for preventing anxiety and panic attacks.
    John’s Wort comes in the form of teas and herbal supplements pill that can
    be taken daily to help ease panic and anxiety
    attacks, however I would recommend you talk to your doctor first before taking this herbal remedy to help ease your panic and anxiety attacks that are cause by your mild depression and stresxs because it may interact with a drug you may already be on.

  8. Cooper says:

    Apart of all these lose weight fast diets, show whhich will
    gai topmost priority aas part of your list is always to hage a
    strict exrcise routine. You will become frustated when you start up a new
    diet, join a gym, set up a Sunday hike annd commit to some new weight-loss wardrobe all at once.
    Chitosan can be a natural substance (that has a structure seems like cellulose) called “the fat magnet” as a result of its ability to bhave as a lipid binder
    on the rate to five to significantly its weight. http://damienkbrh692blog.blog2learn.com/495564/2-ideas-for-acquiring-more-muscle-while-working-out-less

Leave a Reply

