A role model for how to treat others

There are so many people leaving notes of support in the comments section of each post on this web blog.  Yesterday Erin had a chance to actually look at this web blog for the first time.  I’ll paste in her comments for everyone to read (not everyone knows you can add “comments” to each post).  I also wanted to share with you the comments left by Ed Ritter who was in Air Force ROTC with Sam when Sam was a Senior in high school and Ed was a frightened little freshman.  Ed’s comments were so touching and really capture the true nature of Sam’s personality:

Ed’s Comments:  Sam is a Hero. There is no other way to describe him. I remember my first experiences at Casa Roble.  Sam was among the only upperclassmen to ask my name, and he was the only one who remembered it.  His straightforward and genuine kindness and concern did wonders for me in my first semester of high school and beyond.  I’ll never forget those few nights I spent on the Neria’s couch talking with him, or playing on the JROTC basketball team that he coached.  These are all treasured memories.  This tragedy could not have fallen on a man or family less deserving of its burden.

I will continue to send my prayers daily. To the Nichols’ and the Neria’s, you have my greatest respect and my deepest condolences.  Sam, Erin, Ali, and Mrs. Neria, you have touched my life in so many ways and always for the better.  You are all role models and heroes to me. Thank you so much Mr. Neria for bringing this blog to us. 

Sam and Erin hugging 187Here is what Erin said after reading this web blog yesterday for the first time:  Thank you all for your love and prayers and support.  I’m truly overwhelmed by the scores of people who are praying with us for Sam’s recovery.  I just came from seeing him and he looks so good.  His beautiful face was untouched by the blast, so he looks as great as always.  More importantly, his vital signs have been stable for days, and he is receiving the top medical care in the country.  I firmly believe that Sam will wake up soon, whole and healed.  Our mantra around here is “faith overrules fact.”  I love Sam with all my heart, and I will never be able to express in words my gratitude for your prayers. Please keep the faith and pass the word.

Note from Erin on flowers, gifts, etc. being sent to her in Bethesda:  Erin mentioned she is occasionally receiving flowers and other gifts and she is very touched by these acts of kindness.  But—she is unable to have flowers in Sam’s room and there are various charitable organizations who are providing for all of her needs.  She asked that if you would like to contribute anything, to please see the charities listed in the “blogroll” on the right side of this screen.   The three organizations that are paying for Erin’s hotel, monthly bills and airfare for family visits are:

The web sites for these three organizations will allow you to make a one time contribution or set up a monthly donation.

6 Responses to A role model for how to treat others

  1. Jerry Moore says:

    My prayers are with you you; are a precious family for me

  2. Liz Finberg-Timmerman says:

    I am continuing to pray for the Nichols and Nerias. I love you all. Sam is an amazing person. He was my best friend for a long time. Ive always known that Sam was special. He really is a role model to every life he touches. I love you Sam. Thank u Mr. Neria for this blog.

  3. Bob & Lolly Kelleher says:

    We are impressed with the three organizations listed that are so helpful to families and friends. That’s a good suggestion, to contribute directly to them. Sam is a fine young man, a model for all. It is natural that he has so many friends and relatives on his side. Our hearts go out to Erin and Tony and we keep you all in our prayers.

  4. Jessica Augerlavoie-Teeters says:

    Ed hit Sam right on the money with his description of him. Sam is an amazing person, plain and simple. The compassion and sincerity he has for everyone around him, I don’t think he had even one person that wasn’t his friend. I am trying to help spread the word about these charities for everything they have done and are doing for you all. Faith overrules fact. We love you all!!

  5. Erin & family; we are still praying here in Atlanta, and I will do as Proverbs 3:5&6 says on Sam’s behalf…Trust in the Lord with ALL of your heart, and lean NOT unto your own understanding. In All of thy ways acknowledge HIM, and HE shell direct thy paths. Please let us know if we can help in ay way; I don’t know what it might be, but we will be vigilant to pray;I will check the site on a regular basis. LW

  6. Bobbie Toyne says:

    I keep praying for all of you – I know miracles do happen…As you know, Erin, I am a Marine Corp Mom – just drove back to New Orleans with Patti for her last 3 1/2 year hitch with the Marine Corp before retirement and told her about you and Sam. She is praying for you, too.

    Love and prayers, Bobbie Toyne – Semper Fi

Leave a Reply

