Erin and Sam get visited by a miracle

Preface:  Sam’s aunt Jan, much like the rest of us, is busy sending out prayer request for Sam’s recovery.  Through a prayer chain, she became acquainted with Cindy Maguire of Baltimore Maryland.  Upon hearing of Sam’s story, Cindy and her son Gavin drove from Baltimore to Bethesda to meet and pray with Erin and Sam. 

Gavin’s miracle story:

Yesterday Erin and Sam were visited by Gavin Maguire and his mother Cindy.  Gavin was hit and severely injured by a drunk driver.  He was hit on one side of his head by the car and the other side by the ground.  His parents were told by the neurologist that his injuries were too severe for him to recover and he would never wake up from his coma. 

hands in prayer monument Thanks to what Cindy describes as an astonishing network of prayer, Gavin woke up on the seventh day after the accident.  By the third week, he was cognizant of his surroundings and recognizing people he knew.  Although he had to relearn to eat and talk much like a toddler, his progression was quick.  After a year, Gavin was back to functioning normally.  In May of this year, he was commissioned as an officer into the Army and will start activity duty in September.  Lt. Maguire is a testimony to the power of prayer and an inspiration to us all.  We thank Cindy and Gavin for taking the time to share their story with Erin and our family.

Visit from a past commanding officer

Sam and Erin also received a visit from Major Paolocelli, USMC who was Sam’s first C.O. in Iraq during his first tour of duty.  Capt. Paolocelli told Erin that Sam was a “poster Marine” and how nice it would have been to have a whole battery of Sam Nichols.

9 Responses to Erin and Sam get visited by a miracle

  1. Liz Finberg-Timmerman says:

    This really came at a time when i needed it the most. I have been praying and hoping and getting to the point where i feel like its not enough. Mostly because my firefighter friends and paramedic friends try to lay it on the line for me. Then I got up this morning to check on Sam and i read this inspiring story. Now i have the strength to pray harder. Thank you. To the Nichols I love you so much, you always made me feel like part of the family. Erin you are beautiful, thank you for hanging on to Sam for yourself and the rest of us.

  2. Erin Nichols says:

    I’m glad that story helped you Liz. It’s been a tremendous help to me. Cindy told us that while Gavin was hospitalized they encountered many people by chance that gave them hope and restored their faith. Cindy and Gavin are one of those chance encounters for us. Today we met with Cindy and a very powerful and spiritual woman named Dana, who was involved with Gavin’s prayer network. She prayed over Sam, and when she was finished she said she could feel Sam’s conciousness under her hands. We have been blessed that these people have come into our lives, and that they were willing to travel over an hour just to meet and pray with us; Cindy came 2 days in a row. I’m glad that just by hearing about these great you feel restored in your faith. Sam will recover. God will make hi whole.

  3. S Bales says:

    I believe in miracles and want to let you know you are in my thoughts and prayers. There is only one thing I can offer in your quest for a miracle and that is maybe for you to consider a faith healer. The bible tells us Jesus sent out his discipiles to perform miracles just as he did. He said his powers came from the father and we are capable of having the same gifts. I don’t know how to find one but all it takes is faith. May you find your miracle.
    Sandie and Papa

  4. larrywiseman2 says:

    Hi…I am Larry Wiseman, a member of Bugles Across America; my step-son SPC David Dale USArmy. His M1Abram’s Tank was hit by an IED on May22 in Iraq, and he is now back in the USA, and is expected to make a full recovery; he has been hit by 27 IED’s all near misses, but the amount of concussions, along with his latest Traumatic Brain injury caused him to be brought home; he is still suffering, but much better; I say of this to let you know that the entire 8 months he was there, my wife and I were praying angels around David, and pleading the Blood of Jesus on him. I KNOW that God delivered him from much danger and death. We are now lifting your son, and husband, Sam up to the Father, and God will be with all of you through this. Please know that I will not forget to pray for him, and for you all. Susan and I both musicians, and have been traveling around the USA supporting our troops. We don’t charge for anything, and don’t sell anything; visit her website, and stream her songs of comfort during this time. http://itisthesoldier.com “The Lord is My Rock, and my Fortress, My Deliverer, My God, My Strength, in whom I Will Trust; My Buckler, and the horn of my Salvation, and My High Tower.” Psalms 18

  5. Uncle Terry says:

    Erin,

    I see that you may have some limited access to the internet. Just a quick note to you.

    Madison, Aunt Suzy and I send you our love. We ask God to restore Sam to you and your families. May God be with all of you. We ask that He sustain you all through his strength.

    I visited your Dad today. He told me about this site. I passed it along to Grandpa. I see that Grandma Sandra just left a message. We will continue to check in here for your Dad’s updates and the inspirational messages left by others.

    Sam is in our prayers. Miracles do happen.

    Love, Uncle Terry

  6. Jessica Augerlavoie-Teeters says:

    Thank you for sharing the story, it is so inspirational and I’m sure gives us all more hope and strength to pray. Liz, I have been feeling a little like you. I pray so hard every day along with my church and my friends. I have already seen His work beginning. Miracles happen. If a doctor tells you that “this will never happen” or “you will never be able to do this” rest assured you CAN. God made us and He will never leave or forsake us. All we have to do is put our trust into Him and let Him do His will. Thank you for being so strong Erin, you are not only being strong for Sam and yourself, but for all of us that wish we could be there to support, but cannot. You are in my thoughts and prayers along with your family. You and Sam have been touched by so many people, it is comforting to know that at least some of the population is still compassionate and empathetic. Erin, you are a wonderful woman, and Sam is sos lucky (and I know grateful) to have you. You are the absolute best thing that has happened to him. We love you all!

    God Bless,
    Jessica

  7. Paul Danenberg says:

    Erin,

    I love sam, and you both very much.
    my thoughts, prayers and heart are with you.

    I just found out about this website today, and all of the people here feel the same.

    It makes me happy.
    gives me hope.

    just know your motto it true ‘faith over fact’ and that sam is a strong man, mentally and physically, and through everyones faith and patience i believe he can recuperate.

  8. swati says:

    I was in danger of slipping into depression after my 2 day old son died post the second cesarean.Being a staunch believer,I thought that may be his heart would heal and I ranted on plz o LORD,do not test me like that.But the wonderful network of family, friends and office colleagues as anointed by HIM returned my spirit again.TODAY MY DAUGHTERS SMILE IS A MIRACLE OF GOD, MY PROMOTION AND MY HEALED PSYCHE, ALL R LIVING PROOFS OF HIS MIRACLE.
    I FEEL HEARTILY MOVED BY WHAT SAM UNDERWENT AND HE IS IN OUR FAMILYS PRAYERS FROM NOW ON.HAIL THE LORD.

  9. Wendy says:

    Erin,
    I don’t know you personally, but I was very touched by all I read concerning you and your husband on the website. Keep believing the Lord. He will not let you down. My prayers are with you…our son also went to Iraq and since then I have a burden in my heart for all these soldiers.
    ” casting all your cares on Him, for He cares for you.” I Peter 5:7
    “Trust in the Lord with all your heart, Lean not on your own understanding, In all your ways acknowledge Him, and He will direct your paths.” Prov. 3:5

Leave a Reply

