Meeting Sam for the first time

My wife first met Sam at Casa Robles high school in Orangevale California (suburb of Sacramento).  She walked into a room full of about 80 Air Force ROTC students.  At that point in time, my daughter Erin only knew Sam in passing.  Out of those 80 or so students in the room, only one of them came

up to my wife and introduced himself.  Yes—that was Sam.  She knew right from the beginning that he was a very special young man.

Sam and Erin kissing at their wedding at Folsom LakeEventually Sam and Erin connected and have been soul-mates ever since.  It’s interesting to note that both Sam and Erin were the leaders (commanders) of their ROTC unit when they were seniors in high school (Erin was one year ahead of Sam).

Sam and Erin were married on a hot summer day at Folsom Lake by my dear friend Morey.  I was so proud that my daughter was marrying such a wonderful young man.  Although I cried like a baby all through the father-daughter dance, I knew that I was leaving her in good hands.  I knew that my daughter was marrying the man of her dreams—what more can a father ask for?

3 Responses to Meeting Sam for the first time

  1. Jessica Augerlavoie-Teeters says:

    Thank you for sharing the picture and recap of Sam and Erin’s meeting and wedding. I was already gone in the military before they married. We are always thinking of Sam. I’m sure he knows just how much he means to you and how much you care for him. It is so wonderful to see such approval of the husband your daughter chooses. God Bless.

  2. Nicole Moen says:

    I remember the very first time i met Sam. It was our first day of the 5th grade (1994). I was a VERY shy person back then and I was very nervous about my first day. I was sitting all by myself and Sam was sitting across from me. I’m sure he could tell I was a wreck because he came up to me and said “Hi my name is Sam, what’s your name?” After he introduced himself to me I was a little bit more relaxed. We continued talking and we became good friends. I remember for my birthday he got me a gift. (School started in August, and my birthday was September 17th). He bought me a bag of joly ranchers, and bought me some pogs and a Red Devil slammer!!! LOL…now i know I’m old!! LOL. Well tha is how I met Sam, and ever since we had become goo friends. He is one of the most amazing guys I’ve ever met in my entire life. There is no way to describe Sam. He’s is one of a kind, ginuine, classy, goofy guys. He is one of those guys that girls parents want them to marry. He truly is amazing, and so is his wife and family. I don’t understand why this had to happen to someone so special. Why him? Why not a rapist, drug dealer, someone else? Sam is ALWAYS in my thoughts and prayers, ALWAYS!!! As well as his family. I pray everyday for a miracle. I hope everyone else is doing the same. Thank you, and God Bless,

    Nicole Moen

  3. Julie Neria says:

    The day I met Sam was completely memoraboe to me. I was standing in the doorway of the JROTC room, when this young man came up to me and said, “Excuse mam. Are you Erin’s mom? I said “Yes I am.” He said, “My name is Sam Nichols. I’m very pleaed to meet you.” I couln’t believe my ears. Did Wally Cleaver just talk to me? I was so impressed with Sam.
    He said, Erin is my Element Leader, and I have to admit that I have crush on her.” Well, later that day I told Erin about this little crush, and that was the very beginng of what we know today as Sam & Erin. Thank you Sam for being who you are, and thank you Kelley and Eric for bringing up such a wonderful young man.

Leave a Reply

