Sgt Sam Nichols, USMC – Introduction

sam-at-vietnam-vet-memorial.jpg

My daughter Erin is married to Sgt Sam Nichols, USMC. Sam is 22 (birthday is August 12) and has been married to Erin for 4 years. On July 24th 2007, Sam (on his second tour of Iraq) was riding in a convoy North of Baghdad when his Humvee was hit by an IED (Improvised Explosive Device). Three Marines were killed in the explosion. Among his many physical injuries which I will discuss later, Sam is in a coma.

On Friday, Erin and Sam’s brother Donny flew to Germany to be with him and accompany him back to the National Naval Medical Center in Bethesda, Maryland. My other daughter Allison, Sam’s brother Marty and Sam’s parents flew to Bethesda on Sunday to meet Sam’s flight from Germany.

15 Responses to Sgt Sam Nichols, USMC – Introduction

  1. Marci Abels says:

    Sam is in the prayers of so many people, folks who don’t even know him or his family, but who still pray that Sam and his family will have the strength and comfort they need to come through this tragic event. May God bless you all, the people praying as well as the family who are dealing with this. My prayers are with you all.

  2. Mary Slimko says:

    With God, all things are possible. May God hold your family in the palm of his hand and carry you through this most difficult time.

    My prayers are with you.

  3. Mary Kreis says:

    My thoughts and prayers are with Sam, his wife, his parents and also the wonderful father-in-law and mothero-in-law. I know the pain you are going through.
    May God give you the strength to go through this trying time. I will continue to keep all of you in my prayers. Hopefully, a miracle will happen to bring this young man back to health . Love and lots of prayers are with you. Mary

  4. Carol Calloway says:

    My thoughts and prayers are with Sam and all of the family. I believe that God can work miracles and I am praying for that now. Tony, you said that Sam is your hero; I agree with you. May God hold Sam in the palm of His hand.

  5. Don and Susan Galli says:

    Faith is not knowing God can it is knowing God Will.

    How hard this is for all of you – you have the support, love and prayers of everyone who know you, trust, God has a plan, faith, hope and love

    God bless you

    Susan and Don

  6. Tammy Lazenby says:

    We are praying for Sam everyday here in AZ.

  7. Jim and Monica says:

    We are praying for healing for Sam, strength and comfort for you and your family. May your family be blessed with miracles from our father in heaven.

  8. Ashton Branson says:

    My family and I have Sam in our prayers. He was my Commander my freshman year, and it made it a lot eaiser entering high school. I knew when i first met him that he was a great, strongwilled, and intelligent man that would do the world a huge service! May he be blessed with miracles from our father. Allow your healing hand to heal Sam.

  9. Ashton Branson says:

    My family and I have Sam in our prayers. He was my Commander my freshman year, and it made it a lot eaiser entering high school. I knew when i first met him that he was a great, strongwilled, and intelligent man that would do the world a huge service! May he be blessed with miracles from our father.

    Allow your healing hand to heal Sam. Most loving Heart of Jesus, bring Sam health in body and spirit that he may serve You with all his strength. Touch gently this life which You have created, now and forever. Amen
    .

  10. Kalista Kersten, Jennifer Plowman says:

    Our prayers are with sam and his family everyday. Its hard to believe something like this, that you hear about every-day could hit so close to home. Sam, get better soon, we all miss you here, and want to see you recover.
    When we first heard about what happened, our thoughts were “we need a miracle”, reality is we need more than one. We got the first, he survived! now we are hoping for two more, that he will awake with a smile on his face and that he will recover.
    P.S.) erin please tell Sam HAPPY BIRTHDAY for us here in orangevale!

  11. Nicole Moen says:

    First off I would just like to say thank you for creating this website. This makes it a lot easier on everyone, and a lot less stressful. Erin, Donny, and the rest of the family, if there is anything you need PLEASE let me know. If you need help with anything, or if there is anything I can do, you naame it and you got it. I just feel so helpless being so far away from him, and I would love to help out any way I can. “Sam your ALWAYS in my thoughts and prayers, as well as your family to. I pray every day for a miracle of some sort, and I’m waiting for you to wake up and come back to all of us. In one way or another Sam you have made a difference in our lives, and touched our hearts in some special way, and I thank you very much for that. We all love you Sam and we will continue to pray for you and your family everyday until we know for sure that your going to be ok!!!”

    Nicole Moen

  12. Greg Nichols says:

    I am writing this from the National Navy Medical Center in Bethesda, Maryland. They provide an email checking computer to families – the email address below is the only one I can use here. I flew back here from California last Tuesday to be with my brother Eric and Sam’s wife, Erin. Sam, a marine, received a purple heart medal Thursday morning awarded by the Assistant Commandant of the marines; his name is Lt. General Robert Magnus. I met him, he was very kind, and h e pinned the medal on Sam who is still not conscious. The General deeply apologized, which meant much to the family. The General had done some research on Sam before hand only to find out Sam is a top marine. Sam has been a true leader, and mentored many marines, and his buddies over in Iraq are really concerned about him, according to the general. The General has taken a personal interest in Sam’s case and wants immediate reports and updates from the medical staff.

    In the mean time, we have won some smaller battles in prayer, including the fact that Sam gets to keep a leg that was almost removed. Erin had signed a consent to have the leg removed, but my wife called me and someone, I think my sister had a scripture from Proverbs 3:26 where God says “I will save thy foot.” We requested and did much prayer and the next day, Erin sent us a cell phone text, “yippee, Sam has two legs.” Praise God.

    I had also told Erin the night before, you claim that leg for yourself, because 1 Corinthians 7 says the husband does not have power over his own body, but the wife, and the wife does not have power over her own body, but the husband has it.

    You can get on solid ground if you know and believe the Word of God. God wants to do so much more than we allow Him to do sometimes.

    One morning Sam’s heart was in defib or whatever it is called and the doctors and nurses were quite concerned, they called the chaplain, he was there to say goodbye I think and comfort the family, but we prayed over Sam and within an hour, he was stable.

    Lastly, the doctors are not hopeful about Sam waking up, and have tried to prepare Erin and my brother for that fact.

    We, the family, are very hopeful and way beyond hope, we believe! We believe God is doing this. God spared Sam when three of his men died in the same blast. Sam has been through much but his issues just keep getting solved.

    If you can believe with us, then pray for this young man. The first Commandant of the Marine Corp was named Samuel Nichols, back in the American Revolution. Thousands of people know about Sam. This whole naval center knows of him. Many marines know of him. Many civilians know of him.

    Jesus said, “the things that are impossible with men are possible with God”! Luke 18:27.

    When you pray for Sam, pray for all the troops. We see families back here really suffering, as this is the main trauma center here for Iraq, and many parents and spouses are here visiting and seeing their badly wounded soldiers and marines. I cannot begin to tell you the horrors these people go through and what I have seen and heard here while spending time in the ICU of this trauma center. My heart goes out to the families. One day, my brother and I were talking in a lunch area and he ally called a marine liaison officer a recruiter. A young soldier’s wife turned around, and with half a smile said, “I don’t think they could recruit much around here.” Pray for them, these young men and women and their families. And pray for Sam.

    I know I am taking you ezine readers through this, but I do not doubt that this is also part of God’s purposes – to pull attention to a needed area of prayer and love and to help people open their hearts and think and search out truths outside their own worlds for a few moments. There ar! e o ther groups besides this ezine watching Sam’s story. I don’t deny that we are in a hard place here, but I do proclaim that God is good, and He is faithful. God has a way of moving us into hard and dark places where He then uses faith in His promises to bring great glory to Himself which also breaks open hearts, and touches many many people at once. God did not put Sam in this place, but I believe He has led us, the family to make a stand for a miracle.

    For any friends, relative and business contacts who are reading this, I will probably be back in California by the end of this week. I am glad I came back here. Although hard, the days of seeking God have been full of peace and rest, and God has truly enriched me beyond measure. God has put me, my brother and Erin is a special place with Him, and we are so thankful.

    Thank you for praying. Thank you for reading this.

    In Christ,

    Greg Nichols

    mfn2@directcon.net

  13. Erin Nichols says:

    I really appreciate how much you all want to help. I know how helpless you all feel sitting at home waiting for good news. My family and I are being so well taken care of; in fact, we have more help available to us than I can think of things to need. I think that made sense. Anyway, knowing that you all are praying for Sam’s recovery is plenty of comfort for me. The only thing I want from anyone right now is to spread the word and keep the faith. I believe that Sam will recover. Faith overules fact!

  14. Hi Sam, Erin, and loving family members. I have been busy trying to get your current address when I stumbled into this wonderful site. I, among so many others have been praying for all of you and know that something good will come out of all of this in the end. Sam and Erin, keep up the fight, you have so much to look forward to and good things happen to good people. May your holiday be full of good health and much joy.
    Bettie G. Roth

    P.S. I live at Campus Commons Senior Community and am very fond of your Aunt Karen and your cousin Julie Stevens. Often, I get your messages on the computer and share them with Julie when she comes to my apartment. Take care because I care! BGR

  15. Semper fi says:

    he’s a Sergeant, but with LCpl chevrons.

Leave a Reply

