Bob Woodruff Video of being in a coma in Bethesda

Bob Woodruff Family Fund:  This is an interesting video of the ABC news anchor, Bob Woodruff talking about being in a coma for 36 days after he was hit by an IED in Iraq.  The video is about 5 minutes long.  Don’t miss the last minute of the video where he talks about what he believes brought him out of the coma.  I think you will see why Sam has come along as far as he has.

You can read more about Bob Woodruff and the Bob Woodruff Family Fund that was established to raise awareness of the war’s signature injuries, TBI and PTSD by clicking here.

Erin’s Heroes:  I was perusing Erin’s MySpace web page the other day and came across the section: “Erin’s Interest”.  I wanted to share with all of you the “Hero’s” section, which of course, brought a tear to her father’s eye:

erin's heros from her myspace page

Sam’s medical status:  Sam’s liver count has improved to a point where he can be transported to Kentfield Rehabilitation Hospital.  This move should occur this Wednesday baring any unforeseen circumstances.  As I mentioned before, Sam will be at Kentfield for at least eight weeks, and afterwards, may be sent back to the VA hospital in Palo Alto or possibly the VA hospital in Livermore, Ca. 

Erin is pretty excited about the move to Kentfield but will be very sad to leave the wonderful people at the Palo Alto VA hospital behind.  She feels like they are a part of her family and (and I’m sure Sam) will miss the daily interaction with the therapist, nurses and doctors. 

Erin is going to be staying in an apartment in San Anselmo which is about a ten minute drive from the hospital in Kentfield.  It will be about the same size as the room she has at the Fisher House at the hospital in Palo Alto.  The apartment is furnished and overlooks a beautiful grove of trees.  Erin visited the apartment on Thursday and feels she will be very comfortable there.

As I was talking to Erin this morning, I heard lots of chatter going on in the background.  Erin told me Sam was doing his punching therapy.  His right shoulder has gotten much stronger lately and he was punching a padded target that the physical therapist was holding up.  Erin said he’s been working on his jab and right cross!

When I was in church this past weekend listening to the 2nd reading from Ephesians 5:8-14, I got chills when I heard the following verses:

Awake, O sleeper,
arise from the dead,
and Christ will give you light!

Pray with us for a safe and “healing” trip for Sam to Kentfield.

9 Responses to Bob Woodruff Video of being in a coma in Bethesda

  1. Tony Neria says:

    For all of you who send cards and letters to Sam and Erin, I’ll post their new mailing address in the “Sam and Erin’s address” widget on the top right side of this blog as soon as I get that information from Erin.

  2. Carol says:

    Tony what a heartwarming video on Bob Woodruff. I noticed Erin has two of her fingers bandaged, is she okay? I did not notice any remarks in the blog but being in the hospital so many things can happen. Want to make sure I am praying for her. I know that I know that soon there will be an article that Sam and Erin will be together outside of the hospital walls! Our prayers will continue. Thanks you so much for the wonderful updates and information you pass on to all of us. God bless you richly.

  3. Jeannie says:

    tony,
    thanks for the updates, sounds like sam is really coming along. My thoughts and prayers are with the family.

    Jeannie Kartis

  4. Erin Nichols says:

    That’s tape on Sam’s fingers in the picture. My fingers are fine thanx. He constantly moves at least one finger, usually his index and often his middle. the tape is covering his fingertips to minimize the damage he does with those fingers. He has cut himself many times from repetitive scratching. If I cut his fingernails short enough that they won’t hurt him, he’ll get a blood blister on the end of his finger. The constant movement is called perseverating and is common in TBI patients, although the manifestation varies from patient to patient. It’s basically a compulsion.

  5. Carol says:

    Thanks Erin for explaining the picture for me. You take some of the best pictures.
    Your dad was also so kind to email me. When I took a third look at the picture of Sam in bed I noticed the fingers. Many times I focus on praying for the care-giver so when I noticed the taped fingers, just had to ask. I pray for all of you daily. Keep the faith and know many folks are praying daily. May God continue to protect and give you extra strength. Sam seems to be working hard to continue his progress.
    Hugs to both of you

  6. wildbill208 says:

    Sam is a picture of hope we all need to see,thank God for sam and his courage may God bless you all.I wish I could do more,all I can do is pray.

  7. Carol Calloway says:

    As always my prayers are with all of you. I truly believe that Sam will continue to recover in God’s time. But I also beleive that prayers always help. Hang in there, erin, I know from experience that it is not always easy; in fact, it can seem impossible at times. But, if you keep your faith in God all tuned up, you can do whatever God gives you to do.

    I’ll keep praying for Sam, Erin, and all of the family and friends that love both of these very special young people.

    God bless.

  8. Nicola Liu says:

    Hi Erin
    I met you very briefly in Palo Alto last year as my husband (a fellow Marrine) was checking out of 7D. Ssgt. Judkins told me that you have a blog following Sams recovery and it has been incredible to see the amazing progress he has made. He is a real fighter!

    You are also inspirational.

    My thoughts and prayers are with you both

  9. Prince-Mont Swim League…

    [...]Bob Woodruff Video of being in a coma in Bethesda « Sgt. Samuel Nichols, USMC[...]…

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

