Wedding vow prophecy

Sam’s medical status: It seems every day I speak to Erin or another family member in Bethesda, there is more exciting news on Sam’s progress! Friday morning my sister Joy told me something that brought tears to my eyes. Erin was holding Sam’s hand and told him that she was going to leave the room for a while and after she said that, he squeezed her hand like he was trying to keep her from leaving! I’m just amazed at Sam’s progress over the past three weeks. If you look back in the blog three weeks ago, we were excited to see his right fingers occasionally moving very slightly.

I mentioned in my last post that Sam’s eyes seem to be starting to track a little—Joy told me that Sam is also starting to move his head a little when he’s trying to focus in on a particular person or sound. He’s also getting more animated when he yawns which he is doing more and more. He is now opening his mouth to yawn and makes a little sound!

Sam still has a collar around his neck because one of his vertebra was damaged in the IED explosion, but that will probably come off sometime next week. His trach tube is still in because of the pneumonia, but with the antibiotics in him for about a week, that may also be removed very soon.

Meeting with the team at the VA hospital in Palo Alto: Friday morning, Erin and my sister Joy met with representatives from the VA hospital in Palo Also (California) where Sam will be transferred. As soon as I get more information on this meeting I’ll pass it on to everyone.

wedding vows Wedding Vows: Erin and Sam were married at Folsom Lake in a beautiful Hawaiian theme wedding. My dear friend Morey (of over 20 years) performed the wedding. Morey is probably the most biblically knowledgeable and insightful man I know. He also has a gift for teaching and verbalizing the knowledge he has gained through many years of study and prayer.

Morey gave a beautiful sermon at Sam and Erin’s wedding. I was reminded of a particular statement he said during the sermon that rings so true today. Morey saw something in Erin and Sam through his social contact with them that led him to believe this is truly a marriage that will be sanctified by God and will be held up as an example to all of the power of love between two people.

Morey’s wife Cindy wanted to give Erin an inspiring book about miracles so my wife brought it to her on Friday. In the front flap of the book, Cindy recalled the words that Morey said at their wedding:

Erin,

You and Sam are a tremendous love story. Your faith and love for Sam is all inspiring! Thank you for all you give to Sam. Through your devotion to Sam, you give to your family, friends, country, and your world. Morey prophesied during your wedding vows that your family and friends would be watching you and Sam to teach us how to love each other. His prophecy is more real than I ever could have imagined. Your devotion to Sam is an inspiration to many people and especially to me…

Cindy

Note on the Blog Stats and other Blog changes: I’ve made some changes to the web blog lately that I’d like to hopefully cover quickly. Someone mentioned that over 19,000 hits have occurred on this blog since it was started in late July and that is exciting to see so many people taking an interest in Sam’s progress. That really is phenomenal and exciting because it means there are a lot of people praying and supporting Sam and Erin. But—anyone using the RSS Feed and/or email subscription will no longer be counted in the feed statistics. So, I just wanted to let everyone know that the feed statistics will no longer be an accurate indication of the amount of people accessing this weblog on a daily basis.

I’ve also separated the “About Sam and Erin” tab at the top of the blog into two separate pages. Now you can click on “About Sam and Erin” (I also added a cute picture of them!) and also a page tab called “Sam’s medical status”.

One more weblog improvement: I’ve added “categories” to the weblog. This will make it easier for you to fine a particular blog entry if you are interested. Each blog entry I write will be filed under one or more categories. There is also a number that tells how many times each category was used. You can find the categories in the “Previous Post” widget on the right hand column of this blog.

One Response to Wedding vow prophecy

  1. I am sitting here praying for Erin and Sam, and the scripture comes to my mind of how God gives us marriage to represent the beautiful picture of Jesus to the Church; the Bridegroom to the Bride. I am believing that we will continue to hear good reports from Bethesda.
    Revelation 21:2 And I John saw the holy city, new Jerusalem, coming down from God out of heaven, prepared as a bride adorned for her husband.

    Re 21:9 – Show Context
    And there came unto me one of the seven angels which had the seven vials full of the seven last plagues, and talked with me, saying, Come hither, I will shew thee the bride, the Lamb’s wife.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

